New woodshop developments / Craigslist success

So about a week ago I saw a Delta dust collector on Craigslist.

Despite having a relatively small shop space, I felt like getting one was a (literally) healthy move on my part, plus it’s something I can grow into with new tool purchases, etc.  And, ideally, it would lead to less time sweeping, and therefore more time for projects.

So I went to go check it out. It was originally $175, and over the phone we agreed to $150.

Anyway, I went to this guys house, got talking, and we settled on $150 for the dust collector with assorted ducts, gates etc. I mentioned I only have a few tools, but eventually I’m sure I’ll have a greater need for the dust collector.  It seems he was definitely wrapping up doing stuff in his woodshop, and had moved on to some laser etching thing – which was very cool.  Anyway, next thing I know he’s talking about some other tools he never uses and just hasn’t put on Craigslist yet.

And low and behold he had a 12″ Grizzly planer and let’s it go for an additional $50. A  FAAAAARRR cry from the lower end $400 Dewalt I was eyeing at Lowes.

After the initial “oooos” and “ahhs” I had to figure out where exactly I’d be keeping these new tools, the dust collector was a little larger than I thought it would be.  After some measuring, and moving other large heavy things (although these without wheels) I got the dust collector all sorted out.  Ideally, next week I’m going to start working on some sort of  rolling planer storage that can be put away under a wing of my table saw.

This already has me looking into something like this video for a flip top one. And here are some pictures of another one I found.

Of course,  I also need to put the finish on these door and get them up over the 2nd window on the music side of the garage.

The bit of time I was in the shop this weekend was mostly me holding 4″ diameter pipe over my head and trying to secure it to the ceiling for the dust collector.

Good times.

Leave a Reply

